I was talking to a group of people about fundraising with Tupperware. Their concern was how a Tupperware Rep will make margins (that’s the word they used) and how that would look bad on the organization. But for them it was ok for the gift card fundraising.
I’ve been thinking: What’s the difference?
Any representative from any fundraising company will have “margins” thru fundraising that would involve any products. Look at ALS ice bucket challenge. According to some source, only 7% (approximately) goes to research and rest goes to other stuff including paying salaries. And it doesn’t even involve products.
At Tupperware, the beneficiary will receive 40% of product sales from the fundraising catalog. The representative will receive 25% of what’s left of the sales. So if I sell $100 in the fundraising, the beneficiary receives $40 ($100*40%=$40). I, as a commission, receive $15 (($100-$40)*25%=$15).
When I sell $100 worth of Tupperware from the regular catalog, I receive 25% commission. That’s $25. So that means I’m giving up $10 of commission to worthy cause if I sell something from fundraising catalog. I think that’s pretty generous.
Then you may ask “but you’re still making profit of off it.” This may sound true, but I should be compensated for time spent (or will be spending) for collecting orders, making sure that all the products are ordered, sorted, and delivered in addition to all the aftercare of Tupperware – lifetime guarantee.
For that organization, I’ve spent countless hours of volunteer time for the last 3 years. Am I negative about that? No. I enjoy what I do and glad to do it because I can be of a help to a great organization. Am I disappointed in their decision? Yes. I offered my service and they declined due to what people may perceive the fundraising opportunity.
At lease I can say this was an interesting learning experience of how a board would make a decision based on assumed perception of the miner population in the organization.
I’m off to help some other people, then!